Gouge?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Being self taught in the fine art of turning, can someone explain to me why you would used a curved tool(gouge) when you wish to turn a straight plane?
(as in a straight slimline, which I hardly ever makeI do however will start from a smooth cylinder when doing beads and coves)
Recently started using a 1& 1/2" regular old woodworking chisel(scarier than sharp) as a skew and it is great for leveling out a surface.
no more bumps,
I have relegated my gouges for for roughing only

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kevin M

I also use a woodworking chisel at times to plane out after the roughing gouge and it works great. I had never seen anyone mention it before and I was keeping this great idea to myself.[}:)]

wpenm

Eagle, It sounds to me like you use the tools to scrape rather than cut. If that is the case, than using a skew will produce a straighter line. However, if you are cutting than you should be able to use the gouge and get very good results. I sometimes use a blade from a block plane to scrape a blank smooth. It is all in how we use the tools.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Wouldn't scraping leave a rough surface?
WHen I am done with the WWking chisel I can go right to 320 or finer paper.

tipusnr

Either tool can be used to do a straight cut as it only involves keeping the cutting edge on a parallel line to the mandrel. The part of the tool in contact with the wood is very minimal (kind of like the patch of a bicycle tire that meets the road) and it is not really dependant upon the curvature of that surface.

Many people use a gouge because it is easier to present the cutting edge to the tool as there are no points to accidentally catch the wood.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
Originally posted by tipusnr