Got my first Blanks in Today

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wfsteadman

Greetings again folks,
I am sure you can tell by my posts that I am really new to Turning. Got my Jet 12-21vs lathe in yesterday and today I got a box of blanks that I had ordered from Ebay. The box contained 154 Pen blanks:

11 each of
Osage
Black Walnut
Tulip Poplar
Black Cherry
Hard Maple
Sycamore
Hickory
Red Elm
White Oak
Red Oak
Curly Maple
Ash
Soft Maple
Red Cedar

So I figured I would probably just use one of each kind to learn how to turn, without making a pen but also figured I should ask if any of these are not very good for pens based on your past experiences.

Thanks in Advance.
Wally

Only a couple more items and i will get to start turning. Excited for sure.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sappheiros

That's one of the most exciting parts, the anticipation of waiting for those packages. Sounds like you got a great start! Hope you start turning soon and have some stuff to show us!

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I agree with Jim - HAVE FUN!!!

But, if you just want to practice - which I think is excellent. Go to Home Depot, Lowes, or any Surplus store and buy a .99 cent broomstick = 5' of turning joy! Chew it up; play with your tools, hold off for a few more days with nicer timber.

Welcome to IAP from Medina, Ohio!!

wfsteadman

That is a brilliant idea. Going to do pick up one tomorrow. THANKS

But, if you just want to practice - which I think is excellent. Go to Home Depot, Lowes, or any Surplus store and buy a .99 cent broomstick = 5' of turning joy! Chew it up; play with your tools, hold off for a few more days with nicer timber.

ADKBUG

With only a few months of turning under my belt, I can honestly say that I have fallen in love with this craft. I hope that you do as well. Be safe and enjoy your creations!!!

Mr Vic

Our get a six foot 2.2 and go for it. I'll see if I can email you a tutorial on turning practice stick.

robutacion