Good Pen Press?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

turnin4fun

Hi I am fairly new to making pens, I have been thinking about getting a pen press, does anyone know which one is better?

Thanks in Advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

turbowagon

Here's mine. A little pricy at $700, but it does a few other things too! :)

Delta-46-460-lg.jpg

Mike D

A drill press is a good option. Another is your lathe. In my case I've used several pen presses but my lathe is by far the better option for me. I simply turned two pieces of plastic
to a #2 MT and insert those in the head stock and tail stock and use the tails tock quill to press in the components. The plastic is the same material used for manufacturing cutting boards and I purchased it from Tap Plastics for around $5.00.
When installing transmissions in some kits where depth is critical, the quill shaft gives me the fine adjustment required when seating these components plus it's one less piece of equipment that I have to have.

Attachments

• pen press.jpg
    pen press.jpg
    15 KB · Views: 533
Last edited:

Rick P

From a whip finisher in fly tieing to the thousands of useless gadgets that are tauted as must have hunting aids every pass time I know of is full of overthought usless crap that costs twice as much as it should. Inevitably I go back to the way of doing it that has worked for years. In other words I buy the new hotness so it can sit ain a drawer while I go old school. I have a press. used it maybe 6 times.........it's a great dust collector!

Here is what I actually use! And I have never broke or bent a pen with it.

Attachments

• Resize Wizard-1.jpg
    Resize Wizard-1.jpg
    36 KB · Views: 167

Jim Smith