Gluing tubes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Double J

I'll guess that this question has been asked before, but since I'm new to turning and this site I would like to know if it's OK to use medium CA to glue tubes. And if so how long do I wait before turning the blank? Thanks Jeff

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RogerC

You'll get lots of answers on this. Some use CA exclusively with no issue. Others use only epoxy.

I started with CA glue and had a couple of blow-outs due to insufficient glue coverage, so I switched to Gorilla glue and haven't had any issues since.

WriteON

I'll guess that this question has been asked before, but since I'm new to turning and this site I would like to know if it's OK to use medium CA to glue tubes. And if so how long do I wait before turning the blank? Thanks Jeff

I'll answer for myself. I only use medium CA. I leave it dry for 8 hours or overnight. One reason for waiting is the CA is all over the outside of the blank. I let it cure before handling. Before glueing I plug each end of the tube with pink dental base plate wax.

Welcome to IAP.

Last edited:

greenmtnguy

Local Chapter Leader
That is what I use. I usually do 3 or 4 pens worth. By the time I have end milled all set, I am ready to go. As a safeguard, I spray the ends of the blanks with accelerator which probably has no effect, but I do it anyway.I liberally glue the end of tube and as I insert it, I rotate it to spread glue around the tube. It works for me. Be sure to sand the tube to give the Ca something to grip.

More4dan

I use med CA and usually I'm turning within 5-10 min. I make sure I add CA to the hole one end of the blank, then add CA to the tube and insert in the opposite end of the blank. That way as the CA smears off the tube upon inserting, it encounters CA already in the blank. It assures good coverage and I've not had a blow out since doing it this way. I also use modeling clay to plug the end of my tube.