Glue-up question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

chazmonro

I'm new to all this pen turning, but I was wondering if I was going to do a glue up of a bunch of thin segments (all square to the tube) could I drill each segment first and then use the brass tube to help align them? I want to keep the glue-up as square as possible, and I've noticed that occasionally the bit will wander just a little, and I want to try and eliminate that possability.

Chuck

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alamocdc

Chuck, I tried that... once. I wasn't terribly happy with the result. Just glue it up off the tube and drill it on the lathe... like I should have my last one. [:0]

Mikey

That may work, but usually when you glue up segments, you have to do it in stages because one cannot glue up the segments and assemble fast enough before the glue starts curing. Once the glue starts curing, it will be nearly impossible to clamp it good enough to avoid glue lines in the work.

How about assembling maybe an inch or so at a time, drill those, then use the tube for the final sub assemblies?

chazmonro

Thanks guys, I'm not sure how I'll do it just yet. But I haven't been 100% happy with my jig for drilling blanks... sometimes the bit is true as can be, but most of the time it comes out just a bit off. Don't know exactly why, but I'll figure it out. So far though it hasn't been a problem.

Chuck

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
In theory your idea will work, but ultiamtely if you are trying to get the segments perpendicular to the hole and subsequently the tube each surface of the segments needs to be parallel to each other and the holes perfectly aligned.
Kind of trickiy doing it the way you are suggesting.
If one segment is off just a little it tlegraphs the error farther up the blank.

Ron Mc

Chuck,