Getting started supplies

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Banished

Hi Big!

I'm new to turning also. I was shown how to turn by a friend using a miter saw and a drill press and squaring my blank with a barrel trimmer on the drill press while my friend squared his on a disc sander. Once I started gathering my needs I opted to try and keep my shop small so most of what I do is on the lathe which is the same as yours. I already had a miter saw with a laser so my cuts are dead on. The rest of my work has been on the lathe with a drill & blank chuck, barrel trimmer and the only change I made was I opted to go with a live center over mandrel saver as I have issues with it staying locked in the tail for some reason. The only downside I was told would be swapping out stuff a lot to do something else but I have found that it just becomes routine. I cut my blanks and glue my tubes the day before and the rest gets done the following day on the lathe .I am also a Ca Med fan I hope that helps in some way.

Oh, and maybe I missed the post.. don't forget a pen press for assembly!

Good Luck! Greg

Reactions: Big
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Quality Pen

Oh yea... another "must have" for a new turner (especially) would be the harbor freight punch set and soft grip pliers.

You'll want these very soon ;)

and possibly a 7MM disassemble kit.
Not sure what that is?

For a new turner though, that harbor freight punch set is great because you can take apart any common set. The soft grip pliers are worth the 8 bucks to just to make life easier.

Reactions: Big

Rick_G

Most of us started with the slim line kit because it's cheaper but if you have a few extra dollars a good kit to start with would be the Sierra. For the most part it makes a nicer looking pen and the blank does not have to be turned as thin as the blanks for the slim. You can usually get 2 pens out of one blank when you come across an exceptionally nice one.