Getting started supplies

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Big

I'm sorry for being such a novice but I am just getting into the craft and need some help or suggestions please. I bought a Turncrafter Commander 10 in. lathe which will be here tomorrow. I am in the process of getting my tools and supplies lined up so that I can start ordering kits and blanks. I have a very tight budget right now so I am having to lean towards the lower end of the price realm. I am going to need chisels and had someone suggest harbor freight set but explained that they won't stay sharp for long. I am also going to need to order CA but don't know which one I should start off with. I can always add to the collection as time goes by but am getting the bare necessities for right now. I am going to get a Skil 9 in. 2.5 amp band saw and a 3.2 amp 5 speed drill press. I am trying to think of the absolute necessities to get started before I order a kit or blank. So, micro mesh sanding pads, CA glue, and what else? I very much appreciate suggestions, comments, and help. Thank you so much for everything.

kovalcik

First, there are many answers to your question, so take don't get overwhelmed. You can always buy something now and change it out later. I would recommend finding someone close by to give you a quick lesson and then you can buy whatever they use to teach you since you will be familiar with it.

WIth that said, here are my recommendations. For the budget minded, I would go with PSI Ben's Best 3/4" roughing gouge and a 1" skew. Those are all you need to turn pens. You can probably get by with just the roughing gouge to start with since the skew will have a little bit of a learning curve. Alternatively, you can get a carbide tool. Then you do not have to worry about sharpening. PSI and eddiecastelin.com both have reasonably priced rigs. I prefer the regular chisels to the carbide, but many others would say the opposite.