Getting rid of wax on sealed ends

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GouletPens

I'm hoping some of you who also turn bowls can help me out here...I want to use the natural end of this AMAZING amboyna burl I have, but it's sealed in wax. What's the best was to remove this wax on the natural edge so I can seal it with the same finish I'm using on the rest of the piece?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dgscott

I'm no expert, but whenever I need to remove wax from small areas, I wipe it with Carbona before working it. Just don't light a cigarette.
Doug

GouletPens

According to Wolftat you can boil it in your wife's favorite stock pot and it comes off perfectly.
Haha...yeah i remember reading that thread. But this is a REALLY special and REEEEEALLY expensive hunk of burl I'm working with here, so i want to make sure I'm not going to split or crack the wood while trying to get the wax off. Would boiling it negatively affect the wood? What steps need to be taken after boiling to protect the wood and get it dry again?

HSTurning

I am not sure but I think boiling it would be the easiest way.
Wax melts at a pretty low temp and will float to the top of the water.
Water should not penetrat the wood deep enought to matter.
The only concern I would have is boiling to long and heating the wood for to long and the causing a crack.

Never done any wax removal so I am just guessing here.

dow

I wouldn't think that boiling would be necessary. How big is it? If it's not too big, you might put it in a double boiler (pot inside a pot) that way, the water in the larger pot heats the water in the smaller pot, which insulates whatever's in the smaller pot from being burned from being too close to the burner on the stove. If you bring the water in the inner pot to a simmer, i'd think that the wax would liquefy and float to the surface. Then you could skim it off.

Just an idea, and worth what you're paying for it :biggrin:.

Texatdurango