Getting black abrasive on pen blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

joek30296

I'm brand new at pen turning and have only turned 5 or 6 to date. I've noticed on a couple of tiger maple blanks, black residue from the 400 grit and 600 grit paper. I've tried to remove it with DNA but it still shows up when I finish. What am I doing wrong? BTW, I thought it might be coming from the bushings, so I replaced them before sanding with nylon ones that I turned to fit the mandrel.

Boy, have I got a big learning curve to overcome.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have.

Joe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

D.Oliver

One way to solve your problem is to not sand and just use a skew. However you need to be very good with a skew.

PenMan1

It sounds like you are sanding over the bushings. The black particles that you see is likely dust from the bushings.

I recommend that you purchase a set of Delrin eliminator cone bushings from JohnnyCNC (penturnersproducts.com) and then use these bushings exclusively for sanding and finishing your pens.

It sure worked for me.

PenMan1

Are you using "wet" sandpaper without water? This could also account for "black spots" getting embedded in wood grain?

What color are your nylon bushings? Are they "full fit"? Conical?

Last edited:

joek30296

Guys,
Thanks for all the suggestions. I did replace the 7mm steel bushings with white nylon, full fit, that I turned down to below blank diameter. I'm also using 320, 400, 600, & 1200 wet or dry silicon carbide paper (all black) but I'm using it dry. Never heard of Abranet, so may have to check it out.
Thanks again,

Joe

xxShadowxx

i had the same thing happen with silicon carbide paper, only thing i could find for 1000 grit, but didnt like the black so quit using it, i think thats more for metalworking not wood with pores :frown: