General international 25-010 M1 - Mini Lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rpratt

Hello, I am new to penturning. Can anyone give me any input on the new General International 25-010 M1 - Penturning Mini Lathe - Selling Price - $229.99. I am on a limited budget when buying my penturning equipment. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for this great Forum.

Richard

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Canadian_Kid

I looked at one and thought it looked cheap. I have 6 of the 100 models in my shop and they have been great (used by grade 8 students for the last three years). you should be able to get the 100 for about 350-375. If you can spend an extra 150 then I would go for the upgrade. Good luck.

KenV

There is a new NOVA midi lathe that has a lot of flexibility with a grinder attachment on the headstock out board end -- Just got the e-mail add from Nova today.

General appears to have a solid midi -- but the one you are looking at does not appear to be the one.

PenMan1

I'd stay away GI and the Excelsior. I bought a new one and after three valiant tries from the big box wood store, could never get acceptable results.

Jet and Delta make wonderful lathes with long warranties.

achennau

I've had my Excelsior about 4 years now with no problems and with the extension bed can turn a 37" piece. Still using the original belt.

worknhard

The model 25-010 M1 appears to be a very light weight lathe. Although I'm sure you could manage turning pen blanks with it, you would be much happier with something more substantial. Given that you are on a limited budget, have you considered a used lathe? A quick look on CL in my area turned up about 10 that are at or under $200... several under $100 and all are much more capable for pen turning. With a little patience you can find very nice used equipment. Do some research on IAP for features to look for in a good lathe and start your shopping.

studioso