Gatsby, Diplomat, Sierra Problems

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dankc908

I have had a few problems with some of my Gatsby, Diplomat, and Sierra Pens (all using 27/64" tubes). A few of them are VERY HARD to 'twist' open and closed. This is after I've assembled the entire pen. When I don't have the blank assembled the transmission seems to work fine. I have a Diplomat in my pocket and the tip does not fully extend out from the 'nib' end. It doesn't matter if it is any of the above 3 styles (they are all very similar - different manufacturers and vendors). I'd sure appreciate any ideas you all could throw my way!

Dan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ve3bax

I usually give my tubes the once over with a rat tail file before I assemble... gets any adhesive that managed to work its way in there out, and if theres a slight burr on the edge of the tube from some over-zealous barrel trimming it will take care of that too... any extra crud in the barrel will make the twist extra hard... just dont get too nuts with the file... you cant really un-file to fix a sloppy fit.. :cool:

--Dave

Last edited:

renowb

Funny you mention this. I just had one where it was resisting somewhat. I removed the barrel from it and the mechanisn worked fine.
When you take the pen apart, exposing the transmission, does it turn freely?

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Trouble shooting 101: Isolate the problem.

If it works (extends and retracts) without the "top" on, it is most likely not a mechanical problem. Now, work on fit of components.

My "first guess" would be the tube (upper, brass) is rubbing on the nib extension that holds the transmission. Are you using a "stock" of tubes, or the tube that comes with each kit?

Try a brass tube over the pen nib and tranny, does it turn freely?

You know the problem is in the top, and you know you have had it with different manufacturers, which usually means its something you are doing---there' not MUCH in that top that can go wrong!!