Gathering supplies for an IAP Giveaway

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dan Hintz

I'm not a prolific poster on this board, so only a handful of you really know me... but for those that do, you likely know I walk a fine line between tool/supply "collector" and tool/supply "hoarder" :wink: I'm the guy who purchases excess inventory from places who don't want to worry about splitting up $2k worth of stuff into $20 bags for 100 different people. From time to time, I need to clean the shelves of the items I have purchased in bulk but either don't need or have no use for such an extreme quantity.

As such, I'd like to put together a little "beginner's kit". In would include a basic book on penturning, some basic kits (slimlines and the sort), various blanks, bushings, and so on. Other than tools, it would be an all-inclusive starter pack for someone who has an interest in getting into pens (IAP lurkers?), but doesn't know where to start. I already have all of the above, but I'm not sure if I've missed anything... feel free to post your own list of what you would have liked to have when you first started.

Thoughts, suggestions, (and donations) gladly accepted...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Charlie_W

Not sure about the cost but maybe a six pack of sandpaper rolls like Woodcraft sells and possibly a bottle of friction finish.

(See you Saturday in Springfield!)

Dan Hintz

Sandpaper... good thought. I have some of those multi-roll packs that I hardly ever use, so I can include some of that in there. I'll also look at how many packs of MM I have... I could probably part with one of those, too.

I'll have to think about how to bottle up some friction polish... I think I have some small glass sample bottles that would work well. May need to figure out something different for CA.

Keep the ideas coming, guys...

Steve Busey

Dan, everyone needs a spare laser engraver as well...

:biggrin: