Which Fountain Pen for myself?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctubbs

I have decided to make myself a fountain pen but have no idea which kit to use. I want a reasonably good pen without breaking the limited bank. Any ideas from the "experts?" This is my first attempt at a fountain pen or any higher end kit.

Thank you for letting me pick your brains and experience.:):wink:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimMc7

I'm no expert, but my favorite is Jr Gent II (or Jr Statesman II if you want to spend a bit more money). CSUSA if you're going to buy a lot of them or, better yet, buy a nice blank from Ed & Dawn (exoticblanks.com) and add a kit or 2 to your order. Add one of the small Heritance® SF nibs to your order, too.

monophoto

I've made FPs from two kits - CSUSA's Artisan, and PSI's Big Boy. I selected these kits because they use 10mm tubes - one of the things that I promised myself when I started the penturning adventure is to focus on a couple of diameters so that I don't have to have a multitude of drills and barrel trimmers.

The Artisan offers 10k gold plating, while the Big Boy only comes in 24K gold. I've never seen a kit with gold T/N, black T/N or rhodium. That's something I don't understand - FP users are accustomed to paying more for quality. The pen kit makers don't seem to understand that they are missing an upsell opportunity.

The Artisan is a snap cap. That's would not be my first choice. It also doesn't come with a converter (nor does the Big Boy), and I don't believe that CSUSA even offers converters (PSI offers two versions - standard, and 'better'). And the Artisan has a metal extension on the end of the body that I really don't care for. However, I think it would be possible for an experienced turner to do a closed-end version. One thing to be prepared for - it is necessary cut a shallow notch in the cap to accommodate the clip. I use a Dremel, but a small file would also work.