Fountain Pen Help Please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jerryconn

I will admit that I am a total newbie when it comes to using fountain pens. I made an El Grande FP for myself to learn a little more about them by using one. I am using the nib and ink cartridge provided in the kit. From the very beginning The pen tends to skip and if I lay it down for even as little as 15-20 seconds I have work at it to get the ink flowing again. I should mention that I'm a leftie and I tend to push the tip of the nib across the page, I also tend to write in an over the top or broken wrist way, but I don't seem to do that when I'm writing with the FP. I am curious if this is a problem with the nib or if it is happening because of my writing style or could this be normal?
TIA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bjackman

Jerry,
Very often new nib/feed/converters need a little flushing to clean out manufacturing residue left. Try some gentle flushing with room temp water (you could dilute ever so slightly with some amonia if you feel the need) and see if it solves your problem.

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Jerry,

I can't help you on the left handed part of the question. Usually, the El Grande nibs write very well. A couple of suggestions: First, take the pen with no ink, and doodle for 10 minutes or so on a brown paper grocery bag. This should smooth the nib to your writing style. Second, the ink in the cartridges is not quality ink, in my opinion. Use the convertor and get some quality ink. (The convertor is the thingy with the plastic screw looking thing in it. [8D]) Try Parker Quink ink, available at Staples. It is a smooth writing, very forgiving ink. Then, branch out and find what kind of ink you prefer, like Private Reserve or Noodlers.

Feel free to PM me for specific questions if you want.

Scott

Hi Jerry!