flushing wood CB's and banding

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Woodnknots

How does anyone get a good fit when turning pens with wooden CB's? I have had a few work out, but several have had unsightly gaps when twisted. I use a skew chisel to true the mating surface, but either due to my inexperience, or improper technique (I'm self-taught), I rarely get the flawless mating I am looking for. The gaps are tiny, to be sure, but enough to tick me off. I see the absolutely flawless joint lines on some of the bands and CB's that are posted, and I want to be able to replicate that.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GregD

Well, first you get a big hammer...
I turn my center bands with my pen blanks to get them the right size. Then I take the center band to a flat surface with a piece of 400 grit sandpaper. I lay the paper on the flat surface and make a figure 8 with the center band. I keep checking the fit until it's what I want.

woodscavenger

It comes down to not having a perfect 90 degree surface. I am no expert but this is how I do mine.
1. Drill 1/4" hole and put on the mandrel
2. round off
3. use a small sharp parting tool and make a nice cut almost all the way to the mandrel. I usually cut multiple pieces at once and create several different width bands. Doing it on the mandrel will give you the 90 degree fit if you are careful with your parting tool.
4. If you have cut down very close to the mandrel you can take the blank off the mandrel and finishe the cut with a sharp razor knife. I do not have any gaps anymore.

Good luck.

Fleabit

I have found that using a pen mill gets me the squared ends. I use it right before I turn them down and then touch them up afterwards. Works for me. I personally get my butt kicked when I try using the parting tool.

its_virgil