First Wall St. II

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

emccarthy

I just made this wall street II pen - kit purchased at woodcraft. Was easy as pie, but to me, final product isn't quite right...the part where the barrel meets the center band, there's a little gap, and I'm not sure what I can do to get rid of it.

Kit is Wall Street II gold and barrel is Rosewood.

One other thing...I used Mylands as a finish on the barrel, and you can see all sorts of 'holes'...anything I can do about that in the future, besides a CA finish?

Attachments

• WSII1 web.jpg
    WSII1 web.jpg
    29.1 KB · Views: 187
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ROOKIETURNER

I am not an expert, but I was taught a few things that might help. Once I turn to shape and sand with 150 I pull the blank off the lathe and sand the ends sqaure. You can use a sander with a sqaure rest or I just have a bolt on board, and punched holes in a sheet of sand paper to fit over. I then put the blank on the bolt twist a few times and take it back to the lathe. I find that almost everytime it was a little off.

The other thing to check is the tube. Make sure that it is flush with the blank. The sanding methods described above should take care of a tube issue.

As for filling the holes, I recommend Russ Fairfields method of CA filling.

There is link on the how to video section of IAP. You can even D/L the video.

emccarthy

Fixed the gap issue. It wasn't a squarness issue, as the gap was all the way around. I didn't have the twist mechanism far enough in the barrel. I did noticed though that it's really easy to push it TOO far in. Is there a solution to this, or am I just going to have a lot of potential repairs to deal with, when selling this pen?

JimMc7

<snip> I did noticed though that it's really easy to push it TOO far in. Is there a solution to this, or am I just going to have a lot of potential repairs to deal with, when selling this pen?