First commissioned turning.....a pair of pens..

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fitz

I'm a rookie pen turner. I've been turning for almost 3 years. I've turned maybe 70 pens. Most of the pens were simple slimline pens. Recently I've added Euros and most recently some filagree Americans I bought from Arizona Silhoette. As a result of a Filagree American I sent to my DIL in TX, she called me up. "Dad...I have a dear friend who wants to know if you'd turn a couple of pens for her to give as Christmas gifts?". I can't tell my DIL "No". She and my youngest son are sending my wife and I to NZ in December for 12 days to celebrate our 40th anniversary. I can't or won't tell her "No"!

Her friend chose 2 pens I've never turned before. She chose a Cigar pen from CSUSA and an Elegant Sierra from Berea Hardwoods. The woods she picked out are Sweet Gum for the Sierra and Tiger Pradauck for the Cigar.

Any gotchas for either of these pens or the woods involved?

Thanks in advance!

Fitz

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
Since you have not done a cigar yet - one warning that even seasoned veterans experience - lay out the bushings according to the tube and blank and double check. It is easy to get a couple of the cigar bushings reversed.

nava1uni

Like Hank said the bushing placement is very important. I always use the instructions in hand, because it is so easy to make an error and ruin a blank. The Sierra is very straight forward and bushing placement is not complicated. I check the ends with a caliper to make sure they are flush with the parts.

gatornick

I think both the cigar and sierra are easier than the slimline. If you don't have calipers, you can use the nib of the sierra to check if you are turning to the proper diameter. The nib doesn't press in, so you can check it against the tube while you are turning.

fiferb