Finishing Walnut Burl?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Plowboy

Hi All,

Confession: I posted this in the finishing forum, but am posting here too since this forum seems to be a lot more active. Sorry for the redundancy.

I've been woodworking for over 25 years, but have only been turning pens for a few months. I have successfully used CA on just about every type of wood I've tried so far, but I've been recently trying to finish some walnut burl and have had a terrible time getting it polished without sanding through. I've tried a few in polyurethane with a little better success, but sill am not achieving the results that I want. I suspect that it's related to the grain structure of the burl and the fact that it doesn't absorb the finish as well as non-burl wood does.

Does anyone have any tips?

Thanks.

Charlie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jcm71

Charlie,
I have done a number of walnut burl pens, finished with CA, and have not had the problem you describe. A couple of questions: What brand CA? What viscosity? How many coats? Dry sanding or wet sanding? Are you cleaning the blank with acetone or DNA before finishing? Well, that's more than a couple, and other turners who have more expertise than I may ask others as well.

John

dogcatcher

I don't care for the plastic feel of the CA finish, for burls and other fancy woods I do a classic gunstock finish. I start by wet sanding the last 2 or 3 grits using Tru Oil or a home brewed concoction that is similar. The wet sanding allows me to fill in any pores or other imperfections in the wood with sanding "dust/mud". After the last grit is finished, the work begins. Hand rubbed coats every 24 hours for 4 to 8 days. This process is explained in an article by Frank Whiton called Classic Gunstock Finishes. https://www.firearmsforum.com/firearms/article/3037

jttheclockman