Finishing Tru-Stone

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

latelearner

I have never tried the tru-stone before and was wondering what do you experienced turners use? Do you finish it the same as acrylic? Thanks for any information.

Larry

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BigguyZ

I have never tried the tru-stone before and was wondering what do you experienced turners use? Do you finish it the same as acrylic? Thanks for any information.

Larry

Many turners do Trustone the same they do any plastic blank. Sand and polish. If you buff your blanks, please keep in mind that the Trustone with metal webs will make your wheels black.

latelearner

Many turners do Trustone the same they do any plastic blank. Sand and polish. If you buff your blanks, please keep in mind that the Trustone with metal webs will make your wheels black.[/quote]

Thanks for the reply. I must have the wrong name or ask offensive questions since all the views and no replies. So much for the "close knit IAP community."

omb76

I finish them the same as acrylics. Sand through 400, then micromesh through 12000 following up with a plastic polish after that. Should yield you some great results!

Be patient, not everyone who looks at your post will have an answer for you. I don't think think there are near as many turners out there that use trustone compared to wood blanks.

jttheclockman

Many turners do Trustone the same they do any plastic blank. Sand and polish. If you buff your blanks, please keep in mind that the Trustone with metal webs will make your wheels black.

Thanks for the reply. I must have the wrong name or ask offensive questions since all the views and no replies. So much for the "close knit IAP community."[/quote]