Finding a way to use blanks that are too short...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

mbellek

I bought some dymondwood pen blanks before I knew what I was doing, and I ended up with a bunch of useless (for me) material.

I make hair sticks and my blanks need to be about 8".

I want to try gluing some of the blanks together and turning them that way.

I was going to use good old CA glue, but my father in law (who knows about wood working but not specifically wood turning) say that the "shear" strength on CA is not good... meaning that I might not be able to pull the pieces apart but they can be knocked apart sideways easily... Like this:

------>
<------

Is that true?

He suggested Gorilla Glue. Would that be better?

Is there anything else I should know for turning like this?

Thanks to all the people who answer all my questions, no matter how silly.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alphageek

Former Moderator
I'm not an expert, but in general I would agree that CA probably won't do it for you. GG may work, or epoxy may work for you.

CA works great for alot of things, but you have nothing extra for support (ie a tube down the middle like our pens). Of course, you could drill out the pieces, put a tube in and then just stong glue and cap the ends for more strength!

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
I would use a small nail or other pin as a re-inforcing rod. Cut the head off and drill a suitable size hole in the ends of the blanks.[:D]

KenV

Butt joints are generally much more risky than a scarf joint because of the concentration of forces on a small glue area. Epoxy with some sort of reinforcement (such as a steel or brass pin) would be much stronger and less likely to break at the glue joint. A scarf joint at perhaps a 30 degree angle would have more glue area.

Rifleman1776