Filling Voids in Amboyna Burl

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pgfitzgerald

I'm in the process of turning a pen out of Amboyna Burl.

On the clip side, I've got one hole that I can see *through* and a couple small holes that I'd like to fill. The grain surrounding the holes is very, very dark brown. I think I might need to fill them with tinted epoxy. (I've never done it before, so I'm not quite sure how to go about it. :confused:)

On the tip side, I've got one void that I'd like to fill. The surrounding grain is also very, very dark brown. This one might be small enough to slurry, but I'd like to try and keep the lighter wood dust out of the void.

Tips anyone? :wink:

Paul

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

Use some of your shavings and thin CA. If you want darker you can use coffee grounds and thin CA.

Try saving some of your shavings...different colors can be very useful at times.

pgfitzgerald

Use some of your shavings and thin CA. If you want darker you can use coffee grounds and thin CA.

Coffee grounds??? Simply ingenious! One question though... fresh or used? :rolleyes:

Try saving some of your shavings...different colors can be very useful at times.

I've just started hanging on to some. How do you store them? Air tight container or no?

Paul

Dario

Coffee grounds??? Simply ingenious! One question though... fresh or used? :rolleyes:

I've just started hanging on to some. How do you store them? Air tight container or no?

Paul

Paul,

Fresh or used will work...just make sure it is dry.

Breathable container is better. Air tight is okay IF you are 100% sure it is dry...otherwise you may have mold problems. DAMHIKT.

Note that wood changes color as time goes by or as it is exposed to UV light. Some do much faster than others though.

When filling you don't have to match the color...sometimes a contrast actually works better. Example, I love using red amboyna shavings on Blue spalted buckeye holes.

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus