A few silly questions if I may

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

eliasbboy

I've been turning pens for a few years off and on but only started seriously in the last few months. Much like everything I do, I jumped in feet first and asked questions later. Or not at all...

I've learned mostly by screwing up and then researching what happened. Those searches inevitably came up with helpful threads and articles here, which is how I found this treasure trove of information.

After reading the majority of articles in the library I still have a few basic questions I hope someone can help with.

Choosing wood: I have no previous experience with choosing wood besides "look". Now that I'm getting to a point I am making higher quality pens, how can I learn which wood species are higher quality? Besides looking at the price tags I'm not 100% sure if I'm putting a bow on a pig. I'd hate to use a quality pen kit with a wood meant for toothpicks.
headinhand.gif

Sharpening: I've recently been having difficulty with vibrations from my workpiece. I have never serviced my lathe besides cleaning it and checking the belts. I read a few posts saying dull tools can greatly affect concentric work. I am NOT a religious sharpener, but I would take time once a week. Should I be doing this more often?

Stabilized Woods:
I read some comments that made me feel a bit foolish(er). Are stabilized woods supposed to be finished more like acrylics? I have recently become fairly good at a CA finish, but at times I prefer the more natural look of a friction polish. I have been finishing wood (both stabilized un-stabilized)one way, and acrylic another. Do the stabilized woods respond more like acrylic?

I aplogize for the length of this post. I guess I'm a bit wordy at times but I'm really trying to improve myself the best I can.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sbell111