Failed blanks: causes and uses?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AZturner

Hello,

I'm new to turning and already have a few failed blanks laying around. What might have caused the issues on these two, and is there a creative way to utilize them now or are they just trash?

(Blank on left is cocobolo with epoxied tube, blank on right is ironwood that split during drilling.)

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_0244.jpg
    IMG_0244.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 301
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Haynie

There are two reasons I get cracks in my blanks

If the tube is in and I tighten it on the mandrel and it was not squared right or there was junk in the tube.

Cracks during drilling have been cause by dull bits. Keep them both and segment maybe.

Dan Masshardt

If the one one the left is a 7mm tube, you could prob get one of the little stylus things our of it.

Attachments

• image-2324504684.jpg
    image-2324504684.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 174

AZturner

We need a little more information to know why these blanks cracked. When did the cracks occur, during drilling or glueing in the tubes or as you started to turn them.

I was in the process of milling the cocobolo blank in my drill press vise; when I pulled it out, it looked like that. I do not think it was all that tight in the vise...is cocobolo a fragile wood?

The ironwood cracked during drilling. The bit was loading up badly with rock hard chips, which I stopped to frequently pry out.

Blank on the right is an easy repair: CA in the crack, then clamp it closed tightly for a day.

Thanks, I'll give that a try, but I think it might be too wide of a crack.

There are two reasons I get cracks in my blanks

If the tube is in and I tighten it on the mandrel and it was not squared right or there was junk in the tube.

Cracks during drilling have been cause by dull bits. Keep them both and segment maybe.

Bit is almost brand new, but kept filling fast with rock hard chips as mentioned above. What does 'segment' mean?