Extension cord

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TXTurner

Question - I was just reading some old posts (trying to learn everything, as I'm very new at this) and I saw a discussion where people were indicating they avoid using extension cords to run the lathe.

Is there a problem in running equipment off extensions? In my garage, I have no choice but to do this.

Mark

rherrell

If your lathe has a 120v motor a #12 AWG cord no longer than 50' won't be a problem. You CAN run a 220v motor with a cord but they're EXPENSIVE. Just be sure the wire in the cord is at least #12 and you should be fine. Just a note....the bigger the wire, the smaller the AWG #.

M

monkeynutz

Voltage drops can mess up your machinery or create a fire hazard. If you must use an extension, get a fat one (like used for window A/C units) and no more length than is necessary. Then, put it out of the way, so you won't trip on it while turning (or anything else), but don't run it behind curtains or other flammable material.

Hello

there can be a problem
I'd recommend finding a little tutorial on how electricity works somewhere....it'll be helpful for you if you're a home owner

here's a really quick breakdown of one reason it can be a problem

electricity doesn't "flow" through the line like water moving througgh a hose. it isn't pushed through the line like water through a hose either...its drawn through the line by the circuit thats created when you turn a device on. just like with water through a line, electricity can encounter hurtles to overcome (in the world of electicity, this is known as resistence). with an extension cord, the "resistence" is the distance the electicity has to go before reaching the device that uses it to create work. long story short, the resitence there is, the more heat there is - the main problem can actually be at the outlet.

TXTurner

Thanks, everyone. This is excellent advice and input.

I appreciate the help.

Mark

rherrell