Excited to turn my first Jr Gent

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

desert1pocket

That was until I opened the package from CSUSA. I am fairly new to turning pens, and was so excited to turn my first pen using a higher end kit. At first the tubes being the same diameter confused me, and then when I looked closer, I realized they had sent me a bunch of cigar kits instead of the Jr Gents that I had ordered. They did however charge me for the Jr Gents. Now I have to send the cigar kits back, and wait another week to turn my first Jr Gent. I was also surprised that CSUSA also asked me to pay for the shipping to send the cigars back, even though it's their fault the order got screwed up. They did send the Jr Statesman I ordered, but I was going to wait until I felt comfortable with this style of pen before ruining a $30 kit. Maybe I'll try it anyways.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bgray

That's interesting.

The last time that they messed up an order for me, they sent me like 8 designer pens instead of cigar pens. They just told me to keep the designers and then sent me the cigars. I ended up with 8 free pens.

Also, if you search around the forum for "Jr. Gent", you might find some members frustrated with the drill bit recommendations with the Jr Gent, Jr State, and Jr Emperor pens. (they all take the same diameter tubes.)

I forget which barrel it is, lower or upper, but one one them is a REAL sloppy fit if you use the CSUSA recommendation...pretty awful, actually...I have many a pen fail due to this.

As a result, the best fitting bits that I've found are 12.5 mm and 10.5 mm. Whatever the recommendation that CSUSA gives, ignore it (although I think that one or the bits that they recommend is correct...can't remember which) Use what I state above, and you'll save yourself some real frustration.

Source for those bits....
http://www1.mscdirect.com/cgi/nnsrhm?KNC-T7L391316886