Euro Dimensions at CB??????

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

BigRob777

Hi folks. I'm trying to turn some euros and I've never had any experience with them at all. It seems like there's a cb sizing ring, that shows how thick to make the barrel, right at the tenon, but I can't find it. Can anyone help me? I could scrap a CB ring thingie, but then I'd be one short and it would probably not last long. Also, I 've heard that I should turn the tenon a fraction short, so that the nib barrel inserts slightly more into the clip barrel (through the CB ring thing). Is this right and if so, how long should I make the tenon. Remember that I'm brand new at doing measured tenons.
Thanks,
Rob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rifleman1776

Can't find it? It comes with a bushings set. If you are talking about the standard 7mm Euro, the ring makes the tenon cutting job simple and quick. Just order a new set of bushings, they are cheap. Don't mess with recommended cutting dimensions. Cut as instructed. I use a 1/4" parting tool.

BigRob777

Frank,
Ahh, the first mistake from the Chinese kit suppliers. I'll send them an e-mail, to see about getting that ring. I bought 3 sets of bushings from them, for about 30 cents apiece. I'll have to see if I have a 1/4" tool. I have so many of them, but only one of them is any good. Can anyone post a pic of the ring?
Thanks,
Rob

BigRob777

Just to make sure I'm communicating well, it's not the bushing depth shoulder, on the bushing, it's the thing that tells me how fat to make the pen, before I cut off the tenon.
Rob

Rifleman1776

Originally posted by BigRob777
<br />Ahhh,
Here it is:
Designer Sizing Sleeve
I found it at woodturningz for $2.75

Thanks,
Rob

Rob, is the Designer the same pen as the 7mm Euro as from CS?