Epoxy problems

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

papNal

Awhile back I was having a few instances of the tube coming out of acrylic blanks when using the pen mill.I was using the fast set (5 min.) Loctite epoxy,several here on forum suggested going to a slower cure epoxy.I bought the Loctite 60 min. pro set of two 4 oz. bottles.I have used it to glue up a couple batches of acrylic blanks,after 3 days of drying and one day in dehydrator the glue is still tacky and soft.I made sure to mix it correctly,both with right amounts of resin and hardner,and stirring it plenty long for a good mix.I have been using epoxy for many years,both in military aviation and later as a builder,so I'm not inexperienced in its use.Has anyone had a problem with Loctite epoxy? This is very annoying and is messing up blanks destined for IRAK.I'd appreciate any ideas.Don't know if I just have a bad batch of glue,at over $20 it should work. John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bitshird

Yes I have had problems with the 1 hr epoxy from loctite. I think most of the problems come from it being over it's recommended shelf life, most people want the fast cure so the slow cure epoxy's stay on the shelves long after they should be tossed out, I got my last batch at Lowes, I don't like the 5 minute but Mannie (Monty) has about the best around. I wish some one would find a good source for 30 minute .

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
60 Min epoxy

I've had the same problem where after two weeks the epoxy was still tacky. Not good at all. I never did find a cure, I thought maybe I'd mixed it wrong.

DurocShark

Monty's epoxy is excellent. Even for 5 minute.

I've moved away from epoxy (and CA) for most tube glue-ups. I'm almost exclusively Gorilla glue. The expanding nature of that glue means it fills the space nicely, and even adheres to a smooth tube.

jedgerton