Easy Wood mini finisher

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

barkpeeler

Hi,
I need some help on this one. I'm very new to wood turning. Now I read several places that there is an advantage to having a carbide tip tool (I'm talking about the Easy Wood turning tools with replaceable carbide tip) with a square shaft. I looked at the photos and video of Easy Wood tools and they showed a square shaft so I ordered one...now maybe I haven't received the right information...this is a finishing tool with a round insert. Is a round shaft an issue or not? Do I need the flat back for control? I understand that might depend on my skill level but, please, give me some feedback from those that have used this type of tool.
Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Keith

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gbpens

I have only been using a carbide tool for a month but the square shaft provides better stability than my gouges and skew. The carbide tip leaves a smoother surface on the blank requiring less sanding.

barkpeeler

One thing...my bad on this...the tool from Easy Wood has a square shaft...Rockler (mini tool on sale) has a square shaft.
Keith

Last edited:

robersonjr

You would like the square shaft better but do not discard the round shaft, it is also a great tool to use, you will get used to it very easy. Robbie

barkpeeler

Robbie, I miss-spoke...I have an EWT with a square shaft and a Rockler with a round...the reviews of a similar but different Rockler tool (more expensive) had a few complaints regarding the round shaft and control issues. I need to "edit" my posts as I was not correct with the first one...sorry.
Keith

rholiday