Dymondwood Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

William Young

This is my very first attempt using Dymondwood. I read somewhere that it gets a natural lasting shine when sanded to 12000 MM and that all that is required for a finish is plastic polish . They were right about it getting a great shine and the plastic polish also looks great. So is this the right thing to do on Dymondwood or should they be fully finished with some other method. I have no idea why this particular picture doesn't show the shine. It has a knock-your-eye out shine but just didn't show. ... picture taking..aarrgg ! !
The other one is just a wormy maple pen and I don't really like it at all. I can't imagine anyone buying it and I wouldn't give it as a gift so I am going to diassasemble it and re-use the hardware.
W.Y.
dymondwood.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wayneis

Well everyone has a right to there opinion, and I think that your wormy maple is really nice. I like it, I would let the customers make the choise. IMHO

Wayne

Fred in NC

I agree with Wayne! Both pens are very nice. You will be surprised what people like. Different people have different taste.

As for the shine, was the pen scanned?

William Young

Yes . . The first picture was scanned. I just finished taking another picture but this time with my camera. This is the same pen and the coloring is almost identical to the real thing. The coloring in the scanned one is way off reality. This picture shows that the pen indeed does have a shine.
W.Y.
71901030.jpg

Bob A

William, I don't know the answer to your question. I have finished a couple of diamondwood pens with friction polish and buffed on the beall. I got a nice shiny finish but I don't know how durable the finish will be.

By the way, if I had to choose between the two pens I would choose the wormy maple. :)

Bob

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam