Dust Extraction Yes or No?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mapster

Right now I am turning in my garage and opening the garage door for my "safety" ventilation. With door closed it is about 80 degrees, open it is about 100 degrees, so I like it closed. Few questions:

1. Is it dangerous to have no dust collection, but an open garage door?

2. Is it dangerous to have dust collection, but a closed space?

3. Is dust collection worth the hefty investment?

4. What is the best means of dust collection within a budget?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alphageek

Former Moderator
Yes, No (did you mean to say no dust collection?), Yes and what do you consider a budget.

I have a relatively low cost 1 micron collector.. Best thing I ever did as a woodworker, and should have done it even when just a hobbyist! (oh, wait.. I'm still a hobbyist! )

bbuis

I turn in the garage also. The only "dust collection" I use when turning is the vacuum when I drill out my blank. The dust collector is used more for the things that are done on the table saw and such. If there is a danger here nobody told me. No I dont open the door either .. but set a fan up near the door from the house to pull out some cool air.

PTownSubbie

I turn in the garage also. The only "dust collection" I use when turning is the vacuum when I drill out my blank. The dust collector is used more for the things that are done on the table saw and such. If there is a danger here nobody told me. No I dont open the door either .. but set a fan up near the door from the house to pull out some cool air.

I hate to be the first to tell you...it is not the best thing for you. It depends on how long and prosperous you want to live. The small particles that are created when turning wood that are not visible are the most dangerous ones. Those are the ones that enter your lungs and never come back out.