Dumb question - longest blank requirement

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

JimGo

OK, I know this is probably a dumb question, but what pen kit requires the longest blank (including cap and barrel pieces), and how long is that blank?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bjackman

I think I would still stick with the Panache, the main body brass tube is about the longest I've worked with.
CSU says you need a 6 inch blank for the kit, I don't doubt it. You can trim off quite a bit and still fit a FP nib/section in there with a converter.

mrcook4570

The longest that I have is the mini european. Both tubes combined measure 4.61" which is slightly longer than the standard euro which is just slightly longer than the gent/statesman. I have no experience with the Panache, so it may be longer.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Jim - anticipating the "question behind the question", I have yet to run into any pen that required more than a 5" long blank...including the Panache. That assumes that you start off with a square blank and that your cut separating the blank into upper and lower barrel is done with a thin kerf blade...like a bandsaw blade. Many kits can be made with a 4-1/2" blank, including the Baron, Jr. Gent and Jr. Statesman. [8D]

JimGo

Thanks Lou, you nailed my question. I have a few boards that are about 4.5" in width, and I was trying to figure out whether I could just cut those cross-grain and get more blanks, or if I should stick with cutting 5-6" blanks that go with the grain.

Dario

Interesting.

A lot of times I am caught in the same dilemma...want to maximize blanks that I can get from a board but customers usually ask or <b>expect</b> 5.5" or longer so I keep on making those.

JimGo