drying wood for pen blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MarkD

A coworker brought me some freshly cut Lilac branches that have some very interesting colors in the wood. I have no experience drying wood for pen blanks. I did a quick search for drying methods but it didn't turn up many discussions.

Can someone explain how I would about process this wood for future pen blanks?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GColeman

I dried some redwood root by cutting them oversize, soaking them for a week in DNA (I forgot they were soaking), and then letting them air dry for another week. I weighed the blanks and considered them dry when they did not lose weight for two days.

David M

The one I use is DNA. I cut the wood around inch long, ruffly 3/4 x 3/4 . put them in a old plastic coffee container . ( standing them up ) and fill it up with denatured alcohol and put the lid on it . i soak it for about a day then i flip the wood over so the the wood that might have floated up and came up out of the alcohol is at the bottom . let it soak till next day then i remove them ad let air dry for about a week . you can use the alcohol ovey and over . if it discolers the wood it is very thin and dont soak in .
David

Rick_G

I use the microwave. I cut the blanks about an inch square then 4 at a time microwave them on defrost for 3 minutes. Let them totally cool down (about an hour) then do it again. Continue until dry. Usually 3 - 5 cycles. I have a cheap (about $25) moisture meter that starts reading at 7% so when it doesn't read any more they are dry. Really wet wood like weeping willow I might give it 4 minutes in the microwave and it has sometimes still taken 10 or more cycles to be dry.

Things to consider,
1 don't use your wife's kitchen microwave and
2. stay in the room while microwaving the blanks.