Drying wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dave_Junior

Hey guys, new to the forum! I am relatively new to pen turning. I have turned about 30 slimlines and 2 cigar pens. A friend gave me two hickory logs that he cut down and wants me to make some slimline pens for him. I milled them to 1"x1"x36". If I leave them like that, how long should they take to dry before I can turn them. I heard that since you turn the wood down so thin, it is dry by the time you are finished turning. I also heard that you can place the blanks in the microwave to dry them. How long should I put them in to get them ready to turn? Thanks in advance,

Dave

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

robutacion

G'day Dave

You can use a microwave, there is the right way to do it, if you search this topic on IAP, you get more results than you can poke a stick at.

You can also use the oven, I do prefer it, less room for stuffing up, the oversize blanks you cut at 1" square is normally what I do when cutting green wood, the length can be cut to fit in the oven but, the shorter it is, the less chances it will bow.

I use my fan forced kitchen oven quite a lot, set at the minimum temp setting (mine is approx 60 degrees C) depending on the type of wood, it can take 2 to 4 consecutive days, you just put it there and forget for a couple of days.

Fan forced ovens do a much better and faster job at drying wood, for example, I just took some Olive root out of the oven, that I cut from the root a few days back, the wood was still green, it took 48 hours and it is dry as a bone.

I had 2 of my "drying towers" and many lose pen blanks, I have weight each of those 2 towers before I put them in the oven, when I toke them out and re-weigh them, it was obvious the weight loss the wood have, nearly 2/3 of the wet weight lost, see pic I took about an hour ago.

Hope this helps,

Cheers
George

Attachments

• 024.JPG
    024.JPG
    104.9 KB · Views: 135
  • 025.JPG
    025.JPG