drying blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

vbatwork

Hi all! I recently bought some Osage Orange blanks from an Ebay vendor that were advertised not dry. The picture was just too pretty to resist. I thought, thats okay, things sit around my shop all the time. The blanks came completly sealed in wax to prevent checking. Is that common? As a woodworker, I'm acustomed to seeing lumber treated on the ends of boards to allow moisture to escape along the length of the board. How are these blanks going to ever dry? I will retire in 20 years, and they must be ready by that time or I'm gonna leave negative feedback for that guy! Do most of you dry your blanks or check for wood moisture before you dig? Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

First off, welcome to IAP!

Yes, it is common to seal the entire blank...safer than just doing the ends.

OO is notorious for slow drying...my advise is to cut it to length, drill then microwave dry. You can probably turn those the same day if you do it right. Caution...don't over do the microwave else you may end up with charcoal afterwards. You may have to re-drill before gluing your tubes since drying may cause some shrinkage and little warping. To be safe use a smaller diameter drill to begin with.

Goodluck!

The wood will dry slowly when completely covered in wax. This is good to do if one is planning on turning a bowl and can't get the wood on to the lathe quickly. As a guestimate (too many variables) 1-2 years for each 1" of thickness.

When I harvest a tree, I store half logs and only seal the ends.

Rifleman1776

Originally posted by Ron in Drums PA
<br />The wood will dry slowly when completely covered in wax. This is good to do if one is planning on turning a bowl and can't get the wood on to the lathe quickly. As a guestimate (too many variables) 1-2 years for each 1" of thickness.