Drilling question - lathe or drill press?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

joycetang

I'm new to kit pens and have a metal lathe; I don't have a wood lathe. My lathe has a tool rest though and the previous owner did turn wood with it.

I've drilled acrylic blanks using the lathe by putting the blank in a chuck in the headstock and the drill in the tailstock. For wood blanks, would this setup be better or would a drill press be better and why?

Also, can wood be turned with a cutting tool mounted in a toolholder on the compound of my metal lathe (that would give nice accuracy) or is it better to use gouges freehand? Thanks! :)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

WELCOME!!!

While you may be able to turn using your toolholder, I doubt it will give you as nice a finish that you would with a skew.

Drilling with the lathe is great from what I've read [:)].

alamocdc

First, welcome! As Dario said, you can drill with the lathe. I've done it often with both wood and plastics. Dario seemed to confuse "toolrest" with "tool holder". As long as you have a tool rest, you should be able to use the lathe, but speed might be a limiting factor. I'm not sure of the speed range of metal lathes, but some comparisons would be in order.

its_virgil

Drilling on the lathe with the blank at the head and the drill bit at the tail is a very accurate way to drill...more so than a drill press in my opinion. It's just not as handy as a drill press. mI know some who drill entirely on the lathe.

I don't have a metal lathe. How does sanding dust and the oil related to working on the metal lathe affect the lathe when they mix? Oil on the gears, lead screw, half-nut, etc + sanding dust seems to be not good...at least to me. But then again, I'm sort of a half-nut myself.[:D]
Do a good turn Daily!
Don
Originally posted by joycetang