Drilling problems .

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am not sure if this is the right section or not . But I got my drill vise today because I got sick of using a chuck and drill chuck on my lathe . So I centered everything tested it on scrap wood and it was perfect . Then I drilled a pen blank and it came out perfect . Right until I turned it and looked at the other side and it was way off . I check the table it was level , I check the base it was level as well . Could it be the drill press drilling crooked ? Heres some pictures . I have never used the drill press before I just got it a few days .
2012-11-21_19-07-07_439.jpg

2012-11-21_19-06-42_552.jpg

2012-11-21_19-06-29_706.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

Chuck a straight rod (pen mandrel) in the drill chuck. Use a square to check for squareness. Use a light behind the square to see any deviation. Be sure you square the bit both left-right and front-back.

bastallard

You may want to check that the drill bit is square with the table in all directions, I use a longer bit in the chuck and a smaller square, lower the bit so the chuck is just above the top of the square and if it is square all the way around the bit you should be fine.

Kirk Dietrich

I'm still trying to work on the same problem. However, the pen blank will still turn down just fine with the hole going like that - speaking from experience. So, don't throw away those that are drilled like that; just glue your pen tube in, slip it on the lathe and turn it down. Just work slow until you get the corners knocked down.
I'm gonna try some of the above suggestions for checking the square of my drill. Also, I saw on a video done by Ed of Exotic Blanks where he puts his blank in the vise but not all the way tight and then he moves it up against the drill bit and makes sure the blank is parallel to the bit. I'm going to try that on the next one I do after I check the square of the top like suggested above.

Kirk

Tom T

Hi Jordan,