Drilling and polishing problems

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

micklen

Hi all

I hope you can help me out here

I am new to turning and pen making but am making good progression

Now, I am experiencing 2 problems. Firstly I am getting occasional splitting at the bottom of thinner hardwood blanks such as Snakewood and Kingwood. I am using a 7mm Triton woodbit http://www.woodworkingcentreshop.co.uk/acatalog/Triton_Wood_Bits.html
It seems to get very hot although I am turning at quite a slow speed and as I say occasionally blows out the bottom of very hard wood.
Do I have the correct drill bit??? Any further tips please

Second I am occasionally getting almost invisible marks in the pen finish. They are only really visible in close up photography
Here is an example
You can see the faint marks here on this olivewood slimline
I THOUGHT I had got the wood very smooth using 240 through to 1200 and finishing with a Nyweb ultrafine cloth
Is it marks in the wood or is it a polishing problem
I used 4 or 5 layers of Chestnut Friction polish
If it is the wood HOW can I make sure the wood is mirror smooth

ANY hints and tips would be gratefully received

Mick

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

aurrida

drilling:

1. the brad should be no problem depending on its quality. the obvious is make sure that it is sharp.
2. support the exit point with scrap wood.
3. take it easy, on some wood i drill very slowly, 1 or 2 mm at a time and take frequent rest to ensure no heat build up.

scratches:

see russ fairfields tutorial on sanding. excellent. sorry dont have link

a quick summary from memory so i am sure its not perfect.

1. sand along the grain after every grade of sanding material and dont skip any grades. certainly sanding down with the grain to 1200 is more than efficient.
2. make sure your using good quality paper
3. take off high points on sanding paper by rubbing it on a piece of steel.
4. try a very light touch