Drilling Pen Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gt64155

I've been making pens for several years and I have always drilled my blanks on a drill press. The results are certainly not real consistently. I've ruined a few really nice blanks. I need to find a way to accurately center drill my blanks. The blanks that I have consist of kind of round PR blanks, not real square rectangular PR blanks and wood blanks that are all different sizes.
I real curious how most of you drill your blanks. Should I try and square the blanks of my table saw, or do I just need to turn then all round first and then drill them? If I do turn them round before drilling, what do you use to hold the blank on the lathe? A dead center and a live center. Do I need to pre-drill the PR blanks for the dead and live center to keep them from splitting?
After I get that part figured out, how do I drill them? It seems the most popular way is to use a collet chuck. Are there any other good ways to hold them steady, like maybe using a 4 jaw chuck?

Any and all advice will be useful. I know that I can keep doing what I've been doing, but I think it's time to expand my skills and make some nicer pens.

Thanks,

Bill

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rholiday

I'll use a 4 jaw scroll chuck to hold the blanks for drilling on the lathe -- no special pen jaws. Also can use the chuck to hold the blank and round it, then reverse the blank and round the other end, (use the tailstock for support).

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
I have no problem drilling on a drill press, but a good quality floor mount DP with a properly adjusted table & a good blank clamp are all key to getting good, consistent results.

I drill almost exclusively on a drill press. I've tried the lathe but, honestly, I didn't get the immediately wonderful results reported here.