drilling deer antler

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

falcn63

Does anyone have a good method for drilling holes for tubes in deer antler blanks. I have never done one before and would like to try it, however I am having difficulties drilling due to the curved nature of the antlers. I have picked the straightest portion on the antler but there is still a good curve to it. Do I just need to find some antler will some straighter sections? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bjackman

Greg,
Try mounting the blank between centers on your lathe and then do some "preliminary rounding"
Stop when you get a cylinder, (or pretty close to one), then you will have a much easier time drilling straight through.

Skye

That's pretty much what I do, but I only round about an inch of it, then put that inch in the 4-jaw and drill on the lathe.

DocStram

There are some great threads in the archives on antler drilling. I do quite a bit. Here's my advice: wear a respirator. Open your windows. Run your air scrubber. Then, be prepared to be frustrated if you think you have a piece with just "a litte" curve in it and you think you'll sneak in a straight hole. That's why people suggest rounding em on your lathe first.

ctEaglesc

Passed Away Jul 4, 2008
In Memoriam
I normally drill mine on the lathe because it is the best way to determine if the blank you have will blkess you with a "bark" face on the pen.
If you use bjackmans method( turn between centrers first) ther will be a "strobe effect that with experience will tell you if you have enough "meat"in the center to get a drill bit through.
If you have a Beall chuck(The most accurate) or a scroll chuck you can then chuck it up and drill it.
Not have either one of those.
You only need one right angle to refrence it in a drilling vice.
I started out by cutting a good size piece and putting it in a parallel jaw clamp.