Drilling Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dana Fish

Since I'm just starting out I don't have a drill press and have been trying to drill out my blanks with a cordless drill. Is there some sort of jig or consistent method to drilling out these blanks without a drill press?

I really want to try turning a piece of acrylic but given that most of the blanks are only 3/4 x3/4 I'm concerned that I won't be able to hit my centers. I will be drilling with a 27/64 drill bit.

Thanks for your time,
Dana

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Try drilling on the lathe. Will require some tools you don't have. Look in the library for articles on this type drilling or do a search function and you will find alot of this topic. A drill can be used but it would require some thinking outside the box to build a jig to hold the drill motor a true 90 degrees to the blank and a method to advance the blank on that same plane. Can it be done?? Absolutely but you don't see it often if at all.

Last edited:

aggromere

I would imagine drilling blanks with a cordless hand drill is as close to impossible as you can get. The only satisfactory way I know of drilling blanks is on the lathe (other than a drill press). Others may be able to shed more light on the subject, but I think you could equip your lathe with a chuck for the headstock to hold the blank and a drill chuch for the tailstock to hold the drill bit. I think there are a lot of variations in how people do it.

Russianwolf

1) Where are you (you may be able to find someone close by that will let you come over and use their tools to drill the blanks)

2) what do you have (not just turning tools but other tools as well)

Assuming you have a lathe, you could make a couple jigs that ride in the ways. One would hold the drill and the other the blank. fix one in position with clamps and slide the other along the ways. It would work, but would be limited to how accurate you can make the jigs.

Just one idea.