Drilling 12.5 mm hole

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

I saw a post about blowing blanks when drilling 12.5 mm holes searched for it but couldn't find it. When of the members recommended a bore bit. Does anyone know about these bits?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

I drilled 3 true stones and blew12.5 sections - the 10.5's were fine.

What speed Dan?

Still interested in the bore bit.

Thank you.

Dan Masshardt

I've only done a couple tru-stone so I'm no expert there. Have done that size though. I usually drill around 600, but am experimenting with higher speeds as well. The interesting question is whether it's a size hole issue or a trustone issue What kind of bit are you using?

Last edited:

TonyL

Some bit I bought from one of our pen vendors (about $10) , but tell me what to buy...I am all ears.

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
I believe a set up like this is what he was referring to.
I use one for odd sizes larger that 1/2". I drill first with a regular bit that is close to the size I want, then I sneak up on the final size with a boring bar.

edit in. Haven't used mine on Trustone, just wood, so I don't know how it would work.

Last edited:

Jim Burr

Banned
Is there a good reason you can't drill a blank? It's easy...Chuck the bit, turn on the lathe and turn the tailstock wheel. Add a spray bottle and slow...like 150 rpm and the isn't a problem. Your previous post show you do this all the time.

toddlajoie