Drill bit questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

southernclay

Hi all,

A few questions on drill bits:

1. Do you only use brad point?
2. Do you only use HSS?

I'm drilling blanks on a press right now but thinking about switching to the lathe

I agree you usually get what you pay for but at the same time there are some decent looking options out there that tempted to try just want to see the advice of those that have done this a lot more than I have. I'm new to turning and trying to gather up supplies. I like to be prepared so trying to gather some things before I may need them. Thanks for the time and advice, this is a great forum!

Warren

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kovalcik

I use only brad point and have had no problems. My split is about 85% Wood and 15% acrylic. Usually drill on my drill press unless I really need the hole to be dead center of the blank in which case I use the lathe. I bought the English and Metric HSS Woodriver sets from Woodcraft. I also have a carbide 7mm that I picked up from Woodturningz and a few others I bought before I got the sets (all bradpoint). I have a set of DeWalt pilot point bits, but they are way too agressive.

flyitfast

There are many options on drilling, but I have found that the Colt drill bits for pens are the best for me. They are designed for drilling pens with longer length, special tip that eliminates center starter drill bit need, and special fluting for getting the waste out while drilling. And they stay sharp after many uses. They also seem to stay cooler.
Down side: they ain't cheap! But, as someone said in previous post, you get what you pay for. Amazon has the best price for a set of five most used drills.
I don't like brad point drills for acrylic - tend to split/chip the blanks. Work great on wood though.
I also drill on the lathe - much more accurate.
gordon

Ed McDonnell

My view of the world :biggrin: