Dragon/Celtic Tube Issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

copperstar

I've had an issue with the tubes of the Dragon and Celtic pen kits.
I'm using the designated drill bit but the holes are larger than the tubes (more than usual), so much so that the tubes fall out after I glue them.
I initially thought my glue was bad. I used new glue and it happened again.
I'm new to these kits and I used acrylic blanks which i'm also new to.
Could this be because of the acrylic? Should I use a drill bit smaller than the recommended?
I was able to re-glue the dragon kit and it held with a lot of glue.
Unfortunately, the Celtic pen has been assembled but is not functioning, I believe because the bottom brass tube is not secured.
Working on the second dragon kit now and same thing.

Any advice or shared similar experience is appreciated.

Thank-you

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sabaharr

It is possible that you are dealing with a very slightly bent bit. The wobble could enlarge the hole. If the hole it just slightly oversize you may try using epoxy instead of CA (if that is what you are using). It will fill better in a slightly open space and provide a flexible bond. Roll the bit on a flat surface like glass in a picture frame and see if you can detect any wobble.
If you have calipers check the OD of the tube against what the database in the library says it should be. You may have gotten a bad batch of tubes which the supplier should make good.

copperstar

It is possible that you are dealing with a very slightly bent bit. The wobble could enlarge the hole. If the hole it just slightly oversize you may try using epoxy instead of CA (if that is what you are using). It will fill better in a slightly open space and provide a flexible bond. Roll the bit on a flat surface like glass in a picture frame and see if you can detect any wobble.