Does anyone manufacture pen parts from scratch?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

wade

This is something I have been thinking about for a while. Is there anyone on here that makes all parts of a pen including the mechanics? It's something i'd like to be able to do, as I finally have the CNC equipment to make some of the more difficult parts.

If anyone does, or knows someone who does and would be willing to mentor me a bit, I'd appreciate it. Please feel free to post here or PM me.

Thanks,
Wade in MN

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

luke39uk

First time I've responded to any posts,although I have been lurking for some time.I make all the parts for my pens,except fountian pen nibs and feeds,clips,and mechs for ballpens and pencils.Everything else barrels,caps,bands,nib units,tops,inserts etc are made on my two lathes.

wade

Wow, thanks for all of the quick replies!

I'm just getting into the machining arena right now. I still have yet to machine something on my cnc lathe/mill, tho I do have it functional. I'm looking forward to eventually getting to the point of doing pen parts with relief carving/etching on them to complement or enhance the manually turned wood pieces.

I would also like to be able to do etching, etc directly on pen parts. I'm hoping to do that with a rotary axis system in the future.

Why types of materials have you used to make pen parts luke39uk? Do you use stuff like brass and copper, or do you go for other materials. Also, do you have any pics of your work?

Thanks,
Wade

pete00

Originally posted by luke39uk
<br />First time I've responded to any posts,although I have been lurking for some time.I make all the parts for my pens,except fountian pen nibs and feeds,clips,and mechs for ballpens and pencils.Everything else barrels,caps,bands,nib units,tops,inserts etc are made on my two lathes.

cool,dont suppose you could post some pics of your goodies huh?

pretty please....[:D]

wade