Do you have a penturning malady?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cbb007

I have been making pens for about 5 months now and I have developed tennis elbow. I imagine it is from the constant pressure working on the lathe.

I have also had rheumatoid arthritis, so I imagine I have a pre-disposition to something like tennis elbow.

I don't make a lot of pens, maybe 2 to 4 a week, and after making a pen my elbow and forearm hurt worse. The majority of pens I make are acrylics, which take more work, but I like them better.

It hurts enough that when I pick up something so light as the suger bowl - maybe a pound - it hurts, and I have to be careful that I don't drop it. I bought a gallon of milk at the store yesterday and I couldn't carry it with my right hand.

I'm just curious as to whether anyone else has developed something like this...I want to know what I have to look forward to....

See you later --- I have to go make a pen.

Clay

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

You might find that changing the height of the lathe will help or taking a small step towards or away from the lathe to change the angle your arm is bent at will help.

Also, if you are using your arms to move the tool across the blank, that could be your problem. Your arms should stay in place and your body should move. You keep your feet planted in one spot and kind of sway your body to the side. I've heard some turners call this the 'turner's dance'. If you are right-handed, your right arm should be tucked against your body and your left hand at the tool rest. If you sway right to left your arms stay in that position and slide the tool across the tool rest and the blank. This will also give you better tool control as you are maintaining a consistant angle and distance with the tool.

rwyoung

I occasionally get "mouse elbow", occupational hazard since I wrangle electrons all day.