From Dip pens to Fountain pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Yanith

Hello Guys,

I recently joined the club and you could say I'm fairly new to pen turning.

I'm in the process of learning Calligraphy and started making my own pen holders with a regular mini lathe.

Now I'm thinking of making my own fountain pens. but I would like to do it from scratch. for some reason, I just don't like the kits.

I checked some places to buy the nibs and while I haven't decided which nib to get, I'm open to any suggestions or recommendations

Looking for Flex or semi-flex nibs.

But the main question I have is this.

At the moment, I have a central machinery variable speed wood lathe and I'm looking at some collet chucks.

Is it ok to use a collet chuck on a wood lathe?

Which brand or system would you recommend? Price range $100-300.

Thanks for your time and hope this is not a very crazy idea.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenV

I use ER 32 collet chucks. I get the collects as a set (metric sizes have fewer gaps) from eBay.

Craft Supply has a collet Chuck that fits 1x8 headstocks with an adapter and the 1 1/4x 8 threads that many larger lathes use. PSI sells a similar one that fits 3/4x16 and 1x8 threads.

Beall makes one in,a single size that is excellent and a bit more expensive

Avoid the Woodriver brand at Woodcraft as the collects are not a standard configuration and collects do get damaged or worn and should be easily replaced

Charlie_W

I use ER 32 collet chucks. I get the collects as a set (metric sizes have fewer gaps) from eBay.

Craft Supply has a collet Chuck that fits 1x8 headstocks with an adapter and the 1 1/4x 8 threads that many larger lathes use. PSI sells a similar one that fits 3/4x16 and 1x8 threads.

Beall makes one in,a single size that is excellent and a bit more expensive

Avoid the Woodriver brand at Woodcraft as the collects are not a standard configuration and collects do get damaged or worn and should be easily replaced