Different size mandrels?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tbfoto

I first started turning pens about 20 years ago however I've not turned much in the past 5 years or so. Most of those have been 7mm kits. However many years ago I turned some pens that had larger tubes and used a "B" size mandrel. Mine is bent, and I want to replace it but I dont see mandrels being sold of different sizes now.
Is there only one size of mandrels now?
Wow, I feel like a complete noob now having to ask this but actually I guess im starting all over.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
The "B" mandrel came from Berea. It is still available from them, ExoticBlanks, Beartoothwoods and Arizona Silhouette (probably others, as well).

"B" size bushings are more of a challenge!

tbfoto

That makes sense. I couldnt remember where I got this but now I do remember buying from Berea. So if "B" size bushings are a challange does that mean that most other modern pen kits all use 7mm tubes? Or are the modern bushings simply made to fit the same mandrels?

So after further research it sounds like most modern pen kits use the "A" mandrel 7mm tube system. May not be worth my money to buy a new "B" mandrel just to do a couple old kits.

Last edited:

Jim Smith

I may as well be the first to suggest you do a search here on IAP on Turning Between Centers (TBC) and skip the mandrill altogether since they seem to bend so easily. I know I switch off of using mandrills for pens about 6 years ago and I would never go back to using a mandrill. Just a thought...

Jim Smith

KenV

The bushings for the vast majority of pens now fit on the A mandrel, which is the size of a letter D bit (.248").

D size is 0.246 but the difference is only .002

I purchase D sizes high carbon steel rod and use it in a collet Chuck for cheap mandrel.

L sized rod is .001 undersized and works instead of a B mandrel

tbfoto