Diamondback Blank Question.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

yost69

I am new to pen turning and have been a member here for a little bit and have learned alot. I would like to thank everyone for posting, it has helped me learn substantially.

I do have a question about snakeskin blanks.

I have recently ordered a couple blanks off of ebay. I got them and got a free prairie with it. They were being sold as seconds but I figured for $9.00 I couldn't go wrong. So I ordered two of them.

The free practice blank that came with it had enough for me to do a cartridge pen and it turned out spectacular. I turned it two or 3 days ago and already have it sold with a few requests for some more.

I turned the diamondbacks and they have white spots on them. I do not like the looks of them at all. I have looked around on the net at some diamondback pens and noticed alot of them have the same spots on them. Is this normal or is it because I got them off of ebay and need to order the more expensive ones? The prairie one doesn't have a white spot on it at all.

The reason I ask is because if this is normal for the diamondback I will not be ordering anymore as I don't like the way it looks. Do the prairies have this characteristic with them also and I just got lucky?

I have attached a picture for of one of the barrels I turned. It has a seam showing which I don't mind it at all as I can put the clip over it.

db.jpg

Thanks for your help.

Ben

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hunter-27

Passed Away Aug 14, 2013
In Memoriam
Are the "white" spots actually more "silver", I would say they are air pockets where the scales did not adhere to the resin.

its_virgil