Delrin Bushings

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
K

kooseman

Can anyone give me a rundown on what exactly Delrin bushings are/do?
I'm a novice turner and I read somewhere that their shape is very useful for addressing issues at the barrel ends. However, after viewing the variety available, I'm confused (as a typical novice) and would like some clarification.
Once again, thanks for all the helpful tips, suggestions, resources from the experts.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Matt Cotton

I have never used them myself, but I believe that they are used only for finishing and not for the actual turning. The metal bushings tend to get worked down over time and I think that CA doesn't stick to the Delrin bushings. But again, I haven't used them so I am just guessing.

GoatRider

I think the other advantage Delrin has is when sanding light-colored wood. When sanding with metal bushings, metal powder will end up in the wood, darkening it. I don't think Delrin will do this as much, but I haven't tried it.

dankc908

I think the other advantage Delrin has is when sanding light-colored wood. When sanding with metal bushings, metal powder will end up in the wood, darkening it. I don't think Delrin will do this as much, but I haven't tried it.

That is EXACTLY why I bought a set. I got tired of some beautiful tulipwood pens looking 'dirty' from the bushings (during the finishing stage). I think these will solve the problem. Many thanks to JohnnyCNC (John Goodin).

Dan

K

kooseman

Dan,
Can you give me some additional info about them or direct me to a site that can explain their usage?

hunter-27

Passed Away Aug 14, 2013
In Memoriam

That is EXACTLY why I bought a set. I got tired of some beautiful tulipwood pens looking 'dirty' from the bushings (during the finishing stage). I think these will solve the problem. Many thanks to JohnnyCNC (John Goodin).

Dan