Cutting your own wood.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pensbymdsmith

I am new to pen turning and would like to know what I need to do to prepare wood that I cut myself. Is any length logs better than others? How do you dry it and about how long? I assume different spices dry differently. What else is done to the wood besides cut it into blanks? Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Michael,
First welcome to the group.. lots of good guys here and you'll get lots of answers to your questions.. hopefully, mine will be helpful.
If you are cutting good solid wood, the most important thing after cutting is to make sure your wood is dry... you can use a microwave,, run the blank in the oven for a few minutes, let it cool, repeat, etc.. until you can tell the wood has stopped losing water.
Some weigh the wood before and as they process and when it becomes stable.. consider it dry.. others use a moisture meter. If you air dry, it can take several months before the blank is dry.
If you are cutting pretty funk/punky wood, you may need to stabilize it with either CA or a resin.. You might contact some of the guys here to do casting.. I don't. I have stabilized punky wood with CA.
Not much info here, but I'm sure the rest will chime in with more.
wellcome.

Wildman

The length of a log is completely up to you. What size is easiest for you to handle.

What is the diameter of the logs your handling? For 3 to 4 inch logs simply seal the ends and store. Over 4 inches split logs, and seal the ends. You can use available commercial wax emulsions Achorseal, or Greenwood Sealer. Also latex paint, canning wax, wood glue make good end sealers. Sealing the end slows down the drying process and helps prevents checking. Logs drying too fast will check & slit.

Store your logs off the ground and out of the weather & direct sunlight. I store logs in an outdoor shed, for a couple months before trying to cut them up. Some folks bring their logs into a garage or basement to dry.